.

Brown-Warren: Do You Believe There's a War on Women?

Trailing in the latest polls, Elizabeth Warren charged Scott Brown is part of a Republican war on women. Do you agree, or is this just a stunt?

Senator Scott Brown has opened up a lead over challenger Elizabeth Warren in a new poll released Tuesday. Public Policy Polling has Brown over Warren by five points. 

On the stump, however, Warren's on the offensive, saying Brown and the Republican party are waging a war on women. She's pointed to comments by Missouri Senate hopeful Todd Akin as the latest evidence of that war. Akin has been roundly condemned by liberals and conservatives alike for his statement that it's rare for women to become pregnant after a "legitimate rape." Akin has apologized and attempted to clarify his statement, saying he meant "forcible rape."

Brown has publicly called on Akin to drop out of the race, and asked that the Republican party soften its stance on abortion

What do you think? Is Warren right about Republicans trying to claw back women's rights? Did Brown call for Akin's withdrawal to blunt these attacks? Or are Warren's claims about a war on women just the smoke and mirrors of a losing campaign? Tell us what you think in the comments section below.

Vincent DiRico August 23, 2012 at 01:20 AM
"Republicans are going to take a beating this November" -> I don't see it, what makes you have such a bleak outlook for the country?
Vincent DiRico August 23, 2012 at 01:43 AM
She created the intellectual foundation of the OWS movement (while raking in big wampum, go figure).
Lisa August 23, 2012 at 10:17 AM
Yes -- When republicans modify rape with words like "legitimate" or "forceable" there is a war on women. Rape is rape. It goes on. Equal pay for equal work means exactly that, and it is long overdue.
Lisa August 23, 2012 at 10:46 AM
Bettilou--If you were to do even the tiniest bit of research, you would see that the terms used by Akin have been used historically but the extreme right wing faction that has taken over what was the GOP. The current platform of the republican party would require that a girl impregnated by a relative carry her baby to term. Some in the radical right have gone so far as to suggest that resulting baby should be embraced as a "blessing." You know this and yet you don't see a war on women? Typically these same radical right wingers support the death penalty and the sale of assult rifles to average citizens, so they are most certainly not "pro-life." My personal and religious choices about abortion are just that. They would surprise you. My religion does not trump anyone else's. Separation of church and state, remember? Professor Warren's school, and several others like it, uses its endowment to make sure that students don't graduate with loan debt. Please do your research. Professor Warren is an intellectual of high caliber. There is no question about that, and we need smart, fair-minded people in congress.
Lisa August 23, 2012 at 10:54 AM
Sorry. S/b "historically *by* the extreme right-wing"
Lisa August 23, 2012 at 11:02 AM
Bias much, Roberto Scalese? "a stunt"?
Iron Mike August 23, 2012 at 11:14 AM
War on women? I think Pocahontas Warren has been waging a War on Truth and the Massachusetts media is giving her a pass. 1/32nd Cherokee suddenly became 1/64th Cherokee and 1/64th Delaware,...and the media is SILENT? She rails against big banks and foreclosures, - while she and her kin flipped some 20 foreclosed homes in Oklahoma? She rails about the 'high cost of college' - while she collects $350K salary from Harvard?
Anna Bucciarelli August 23, 2012 at 12:10 PM
Didn't these two agree not to sling derogatory personal remarks about one another? Seems to me that EW mentioning SB in particular about this issue is unnecessary and malevolent ... stick to the issues, don't take advantage of current media hype. Akin said (and I think he truly believes) a very stupid thing but in no way should this be a reflection on other legislators. I cannot wrap my mind around this woman speaking about financial matters when I know she is one of the ones that the Dems are wanting to tax for higher income. Can someone explain her to me...I just don't understand her at all. And I very much doubt that she understands just what the "middle class" is faced with every day and into the future. Someone, somewhere, made a very big mistake picking her to run ... who even heard of this woman before she was elected to run? As a news/political junkie, I sure never did. And why does she refuse to make herself available on talk/call-in radio? But, back to the subject at hand, no, I don't believe there is a war on women. That is a manufactured sentiment expressed by our wonderful and wise news people, don't you think? Just my humble opinion.
ron johnson August 23, 2012 at 12:39 PM
Lisa, You are missing the point entirely. The fact is the EW is running ads every night talking about student debt. The increase in college tuition is far in excess to the rate of inflation for the past thirty years and to a large degree is driven by high salaries of the staff. (By the way staff expenses make up 48% of the operating budget at Harvard) Harvard has 33b in its endowment, they do not extend grants to families who make more than 60,000. You do the math. If you are asking as she is for more federal programs to assist kids to attend school she is in realty asking us as the tax payers to pay her salary while she works for a institution that has 33b in the bank. Lisa you may want to do more research. Again, kids have debt, according to your girl it is more than a trillion dollars.
Vincent DiRico August 23, 2012 at 04:13 PM
FYI: - the platform document cannot outlaw anything -> "The platform - a statement of principles that is not binding on Republican candidates - will be voted on, and likely approved, by delegates to the Republican National Convention next week in Tampa, Florida." - "Bush, McCain and Romney all oppose abortion but have said it is acceptable under certain circumstances, such as when a rape results in a pregnancy." - Debbie Blabber-mouth Schultz said: "the Democratic platform, to be approved during the party's convention in Charlotte, North Carolina, during the first week of September, would express strong support for women's reproductive freedom but also would include language proposed by anti-abortion Democrats." maybe you should go read your own doc? would you be so kind to report back on this "language proposed by anti-abortion Democrats."?
Paul Tress August 23, 2012 at 05:03 PM
Everyone should look at this thread and realize how easy it is to be suckered into a single issue re a candidate, for example 'the war on women', Medicare, gun rights and economic stimulus. Consequently, polarization increases and consensus on any issue is a fairy tail, as shown by the current Congressional stalemate. Personally, I'll be holding my nose in November when voting more for a candidate that I'm least against than for supporting. Maybe the Bard was prescient with 'a plague on both your houses'.
ron johnson August 23, 2012 at 05:22 PM
Paul, Why not get involved and then rather than holding your nose, you could support someone. I am kind of tired of people who complain about candidates in every election.
Anna Bucciarelli August 23, 2012 at 11:44 PM
So Nasty Ron ... and unbecoming ... really, don't you think we are all entitled to our opinions or non-oinions and to work out our dilemmas in our own way? I like to think we all do the best we can with what we know ... or at least most of us try. Paul does it his way ... you do it yours. We are none of us alike but from all the responses here, I do think we all are thinkers and care. Can't always agree, don't always disagree, just think and try our best to come up with our most compelling solution.
Iron Mike August 23, 2012 at 11:56 PM
The 'War on Women' also includes the approximate 600,000 unborn women killed every year in this country. Sadly, both Warren and Brown are pro-abortion. I'll vote holding my nose.
ron johnson August 24, 2012 at 12:43 PM
Anna, I am not sure what you are attacking or defending. People who constantly complain about the quality of the candidates always strike me as people who are trying to put themselves above it all. If you do not have an opionion then why do you need to say that you have none.
Cynthia August 24, 2012 at 01:58 PM
Thought those who commented may have an interest in seeing a documentary on Obama. It is playing at the Tyngsboro AMC this Friday the 24th through Thursday, August 30th. It was produced by Gerald R Molen who produced "Schindler's List." You can find the listing and times at www.movies.com "Obama's America".
Anna Bucciarelli August 25, 2012 at 12:47 AM
Ron ... I do, indeed have an opinion. I just felt your reply to Paul was a bit harsh. You appear to be a strong-minded individual and I appreciate that since I am as well; however, I believe it is compassionate to respect the thoughts of others whether we agree or not. Isn't that what these comments are all about, to share differing thoughts? I suspect that you and I may share many same beliefs but please make room for those of differing feelings. This is a hard time for all of us and making decisions is not easy for everyone, some need more time, more information, which I don't really think we are getting enough of from either candidate at this time. It's just a bit sketchy to some people, the information from the media is limited to the ads they feature from the candidates themselves, boasting mostly about their attributes. You are perfectly correct ... research is the answer ... and past performance is an indicator of future endeavors by both. And to repeat,no, I do not believe there is a "war on women", I believe that is a manufactured comment to stir up controversy in favor of EW.
Chris Daley August 26, 2012 at 12:22 PM
Senator Scott Brown certainly is NOT waging a "war on women". He has a loving wife and two daughters. The lady from Oklahoma and Harvard yard is not qualified to represent my views on common sense and level-headed approaches to our problems. She cannot match Brown's life experiences growing up in an abusive childhood, serving as a Mass. legislator and the military. There does seem to be a lot of women in the Republican Party who make their own personal choices I would suppose, so this gender war must only be misconstrued by SOME? All rhetoric and paranoia. As for abortion: hate the sin, love the sinner. You have the right to choose, I believe, but it's still killing a child. Abortion is not birth control.
bettilou August 26, 2012 at 11:02 PM
Lisa- I will forgive the insult of you calling me "uninformed". If you knew me, you would have a different opinion. Yes, Akin is a radical-right person, however is he any more crazy than someone who is so radical-left that they support abortion at 39wks gestation? I don't think so. Abortion is an issues that this country will never agree upon, but it is just ONE issue. In this day and age, I think we have far more pressing issues like our failing economy, insane amount of debt, wars we are stuck in, the high rate of gov't dependence, the cost of health care, education. I think we should stop bickering and elect people to office who are actually going to act like adults, stop thinking about their own power, and sit down and make solutions that 80% of this country is happy about. We can write off the wacko 10% at either end of the spectrum.
Cheryl Douglas August 27, 2012 at 01:21 AM
Stepping away from the politics for a minute..Is this the testing ground for political plants? I'm being asked to vote for a lady from Oklahoma to help me locally right? Really? So, we voted in a governor from Chicago, and possibly senator from Oklahoma. How strange. We have a local running, a guy that's born and raised here. Understands us, one of us. And locals are tearing him to shreds in support of the lady from Oklahoma. How strange. When he's done he has to live here. She leaves for Oklahoma. That says a lot about who will care about me. I'm sorry, but I just can't understand why we vote for non-locals to support us. How strange.
Tyler Jozefowicz August 27, 2012 at 02:06 AM
Simpe fact of the matter is that- (i) education costs are too high; (ii) equal pay is long overdue; (iii) abortions rights, women's control of their own bodies, and repeal of Roe v. Wade are being threatened by Republican candidates; (iv) infrastructure repairs are required and create jobs, and (v) Wall Street needs to be regulated. these are issues Elizabeth Warren is raising, not Brown. Brown is running "feel good "ads as if it were a popularity contest. Side issues like Cherokee blood, " legitimatre rape", professors' salaries vs. CEO pay, are innane, juvenile distractions. Elizabeth Warren will win because she is on the correct side of the issues, and Brown is hoping no one will ask him about the issues, trying to run out the clock before people realize.
Vincent DiRico August 27, 2012 at 11:21 AM
"fact"(s) really? - (I did not correct your spelling errors) :Side issues like Cherokee blood, " legitimatre rape", professors' salaries vs. CEO pay, are innane, juvenile distractions." -> like grannie's 5 (or 6) point radio ad I heard this morning on the "war on woman"? I forget them all, I recall: Rs want to close Planned Parenthood, Ryan filed legislation to outlaw birth control pills, Rs blocked equal pay, ... blah blah blah Your exact points: (i) education costs are too high -> I think grannie and family live high off the big $s she collects on the backs of today's college students (ii) equal pay is long overdue -> did you read above? the gap in pay is conveniently measured by the Ds and allies (iii) repeal of Roe v. Wade are being threatened by Republican candidates; -> do you really think that will ever happen, seriously? (iv) infrastructure repairs are required and create jobs -> it was very difficult to keep my breakfast down on this one, have you heard the Feds are out of $? do you know how much of each $ is borrowed? and who will be on the hook to pay it back? (v) Wall Street needs to be regulated. -> sounds good, where are your explicit regulations?
Anna Bucciarelli August 27, 2012 at 11:29 AM
Well said Vincent.
Paul Tress August 27, 2012 at 12:59 PM
Is any one discussing foreign policy and military related issues? What are we doing about the invasion of drug cartel crime from Mexico? What should we do, if anything, in the Middle East? Is Afghanistan 'putting good money into bad'? Why do we still have troops in Europe and Japan almost 70 years after World War II? Do nations feel 'entitled' to our military at our expense? Why is our military budget identical to the budgets of the next 20 nations, including potential adversaries like China, Russia and Iran? What are we doing about the next conflict types: cyberwarfare, militarization of space?
ron johnson August 27, 2012 at 01:39 PM
Vincent is absolutely right. The issue about her pay is one that should be raised when she runs ads condemning the amount of student debt. The fact is that it is a crippling amount of money for college students to pay back. It determines job choices and living arrangments. Ther fact is that she make about 500k at a school that sits on a 33b dollar endowment, all facts and she now wants us to subsidize this. It smacks of hyprocrisy to condemn one set of hand-outs while looking for one yourself.
R Gagnon September 04, 2012 at 05:29 PM
There is a difference between being pro choice and being pro abortion. The pro choice people believe that is not the government's (taxpayers') responsibility to determine the legality and morality of abortions. The pro-abortion people believe that is not only the government's responsibility to protect a person's natural right to have an abortion but they also feel it is the responsibility of everyone, regardless of how they feel on the matter, to provide funding for abortions. Warren knows the difference but insists on ginning up this supposed "war on women" in order to steer the uninformed masses over to her side. Regarding equal pay for women, there are already laws in place to prevent disparity between women and men's wages for performing the same job. SWhat Brown voted against was additional regulations for companies that was also tied to some unrelated pork barrel spending bill. But Warren feels the need to twist that to mean Brown voted against equal pay for women. She is one of the most dishonest candidates I've seen in years. I hope the MA voters see her for what she really is. A elitist liar who is willing to compromise what little integrity she has in order to achieve power.
Iron Mike September 04, 2012 at 05:37 PM
To: R Gagnon: "protect a person's natural right to have an abortion" That's probably the most disgusting thing I've read all day! What about a person's NATURAL RIGHT not to be killed at the whim of their mother?
R Gagnon September 04, 2012 at 07:15 PM
Iron Mike, I, used the word "natural" right rather than "endowed by our Creator" because, many of the people who approve of abortion as a form of birth control do not believe in a "Creator". I think that most "God fearing" Americans do not approve of abortion as a form of birth control. Just as a cat has a "natural" right to kill a songbird and play with it until becoming bored and then leaving it to rot, some believe it is their "natural" right to kill an unborn baby for whatever reason and then submitting the bill to the tax payers disguised as birth control expenses. My opinion on the matter is quite in line with yours. I don't feel that the human race is done any favors in the eyes of my God by killing its young before they are born. I will not force my opinion on the matter on anybody but a major consideration for me when voting for a candidate is whether or not this candidate would use tax payer funds to pay for women's abortions regardless of the circumstances of conception. If carrying the baby to term is a real threat to the life of the mother, then the difficult decision might have to be made. But, the necessity to end the life of the baby in order to save the life of the mother is becoming more rare with advancements in the medial care for premature babies and prenatal care.
Mike September 04, 2012 at 07:22 PM
Iron Mike, Abortion is a traumatic event that many people are completely and legitimately opposed to for many valid reasons. ...which is why people who don't believe in abortion should choose not to have one. /discussion
Mike September 04, 2012 at 07:35 PM
The "taxpayer-funded abortions" argument has been an ongoing boogeyman used by the religious right for several years. You would have a more robust argument that didn't rely on carefully-crafted talking points if you were armed with the facts about the issue from reputable sources. As a starting point, try these: http://www.guttmacher.org/statecenter/spibs/spib_SFAM.pdf http://www.factcheck.org/2011/04/planned-parenthood/ Kudos, however, for understanding that forcing your opinion on someone doesn't advance the discussion of what's a serious matter...

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something